Fire Marshal's Office

  1. SERVICE ADVISORY
    While City Hall is closed during COVID-19, inspections will be performed virtually, when possible. Our team will work with you to find the best solution possible.

    For building inspections, use the 24/7 Interactive Voice Response System at 240-314-5040. When scheduling an inspection, you must leave a site contact number and an inspector will contact you. Certain inspections will not be able to be performed due to their complex nature. Facetime video is our preferred option for inspections. For those without FaceTime capability, please contact Robert Purkey at Rpurkey@rockvillemd.gov for additional options.

    For fire inspections, complete the request online or email firemarshal@rockvilemd.gov and our fire marshal will contact you.

    The following license-related inspections will be suspended:
    • Family daycare
    • Group home
    • Board and care

The Rockville Fire Marshal's Office was established in 1997 to provide a higher level of service to the citizens and business community within the city limits. The Fire Marshal's Office is responsible for the enforcement of fire codes during construction and throughout occupancy to ensure a safe environment for residents, visitors and firefighters.

Services

  • Fire inspections.
  • Fire code enforcement.
  • Fire safety and educational outreach.

If you believe a building is not inline with fire code, complete the building and fire code complaint form.

Still have questions? Contact:

Fire Marshal
phone.png
240-314-8240
location.png
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
hours.png
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Contact Information


NamePhoneEmail
Ricky W. Barker, AICP
Director of Planning and Development Services
240-314-8202rbarker@rockvillemd.gov
Rabbiah "Robbie" Sabbakhan
Chief of Inspection Services
240-314-8242rsabbakhan@rockvillemd.gov
Carl Young
Fire Marshal
240-314-8250cyoung@rockvillemd.gov
Shannon Patrick
Fire Protection Engineer
240-314-8246spatrick@rockvillemd.gov
Charles Biggus
Fire Codes Plans Examiner
240-314-8252cbiggus@rockvillemd.gov
Charles Bartlett
Senior Codes Inspector
240-314-8256cbartlett@rockvillemd.gov
Mary Davis
Fire Codes Inspector
240-314-8263mdavis@rockvillemd.gov