Development Review Division

The Planning & Zoning Division coordinates review of development applications and determines compliance with the comprehensive and neighborhood plans, the Rockville Zoning Ordinance and other city code and regulations.

Planning staff in development review act as project managers and work with other city departments and external agencies during review to ensure compliance with all relevant codes. For most development projects, the project manager guides the project through the review and approval process and provides recommendations to the approving authority.

This division also includes Zoning staff charged with administering the Rockville Zoning Ordinance and Sign Code.

Still have questions? Contact:

Planning & Zoning
phone.png
240-314-8200
location.png
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
hours.png
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Please Note: Development Review staff continue to provide essential services from home during the closure of Rockville City Hall due to COVID-19 virus restrictions. Refer to the Development Review webpage or contact staff by email for more information.

Contact Information

NamePhoneEmail
Ricky W. Barker, AICP
Director of Planning and Development Services
240-314-8202rbarker@rockvillemd.gov
Jim Wasilak, AICP
Chief of Zoning
240-314-8211jwasilak@rockvillemd.gov
Deane Mellander
Community Enhancement Code Inspector Manager
240-314-8224dmellander@rockvillemd.gov
Cas Chasten
Principal Planner
240-314-8223cchasten@rockvillemd.gov
Brian Wilson
Principal Planner
240-314-8227bwilson@rockvillemd.gov
Nicole Walters
Senior Planner
240-314-8215nwalters@rockvillemd.gov
Tamara Dietrich
Senior Zoning Inspector
240-314-8254tdietrich@rockvillemd.gov
Punam Thukral
Planning Technician
240-314-8231pthukral@rockvillemd.gov